Wake Forest University announces retiring faculty

Posted May 19, 2008

Wake Forest University announces 21 faculty members who retired within the 2007-2008 academic year.  The retiring faculty are:

Reynolda Campus

  • John L. Andronica, professor and chair of classical languages
  • Robert H. Knott, professor of art
  • Allen Mandelbaum, W.R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Humanities
  • William C. Kerr, professor of physics

Bowman Gray Campus

  • Dr. Julia M. Cruz, professor of hematology and oncology, internal medicine
  • Dr. Joseph M. (Mac) Ernest, professor maternal/fetal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology
  • Dr. Michael R. Lawless, professor of pediatrics
  • Dr. David L. McCullough, professor of urology, surgical sciences
  • Dr. William Fred McGuirt Sr., professor of otolaryngology, surgical sciences
  • Dr. Grover R. Mims, associate professor of anesthesiology
  • Dr. Dixon M. Moody, professor of radiology, radiologic sciences
  • James E. Smith, professor of physiology and pharmacology
  • Dr. Ronald D. Smith, associate professor of general surgery, surgical sciences
  • Dr. Douglas R. White, associate professor of hematology and oncology, internal medicine
  • Dr. Frank B. Wood, professor of neuropsychology, neurology
  • Dr. Ralph D. Woodruff, associate professor of pathology

Five other faculty from the Bowman Gray Campus retired at the end of the 2006-2007 academic year:

  • Dr. David H. Buss, professor of pathology
  • Dr. James E. Byrum Jr., associate professor of emergency medicine, surgical sciences
  • Carol C. Cunningham, professor of biochemistry
  • John W. Hartz, associate professor of pathology
  • William E. Sonntag, professor of physiology and pharmacology